Chick(pea)n and Waffles … the (pea) is silent.

Chick(pea)n and Waffles

Chick(pea)n and Waffles

Because of M’s prolonged waffle craving I did a little variation on chickpea cutlets and served them with some vegan pinole waffles.

For the waffles I followed the recipe except that I omitted the coconut oil and used flax milk instead of hemp milk. I also had to thin my batch a bit with water.

For the cutlets I did a variation on my usual recipe*:

1 C chickpea puree
1/3 C matpe beans cooked in water to cover (about 30 min)
1/2 C vital wheat gluten
1/2 C matzo meal
1/2 t paprika
garlic powder
salt
black pepper

*The usual recipe is*
1C chickpeas
2T yogurt
1/2 C oatmeal or breadcrumbs
1/4 C water
2 T soy sauce
2 cloves garlic
1/2 t lemon zest
1/2 t thyme
1/2 t paprika
1/4 t sage

Either way you just blend up chickpeas and stir in the remaining ingredients. Shape into cutlets and bake at 375 for about 25 minutes flipping at half time. The matpe beans added a meatier texture to the cutlets. They were good but by no means necessary.

Chickpea cutlets

Chickpea cutlets

I served the cutlets on top of the waffles with a dollop of some homemade orange marmalade underneath, hot sauce and additional sweeteners (agave/honey) to taste and coleslaw* on the side (which eventually ended up on top of everything for M and consumed in sandwich form).

* by coleslaw I mean what I usually do to cabbage which is: shed it, salt it, dash of sugar it, and mix it with apple cider vinegar*

Speaking of serving… I was just outside and these three young boys were biking on the street.
Boy 1: “OH MAN there is a car – GO MAN GO”
Boy 2: moves to the side of the road slowly.
Boy 1: “OH MAN YOU JUST GOT SERVED!” laughs at boy 2
Boy 2,upset, to boy 3: “that’s not serving, is it?”
Boy 3: “What man?”
Boy 2:” Da Car came and he said man a car, a car! and I moved to the side of the road and den he said aw man you was served!”
Boy 3: “I don’t think dats serving….”
Boy 1: “What I meant by served was dat he had to slow down…. he was served.” laughs again at both boys.
Boy 2, 3, and myself (walking into the apartment) all looked very confused.
I’ll have to discuss the what it means to be served with M when he comes home tonight to be able to decipher whether  boy 2 really got served..and if so, by whom. I think that this discussion will really be a valuable way to pass the time at the dinner table tonight.

This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

